A group of 3 seals on the beach shore

There are over 18 species of semi-aquatic marine mammals of the family Phocidae which is genus of Seals. 

1.     Seals Are Related to Bears, Skunks, and Badgers. 

2.     "Earless" True Seals Actually Do Have Ears. 

3.     The Largest Seal Weighs More Than Four Tons. 

4.     Mothers and Pups Bond With a Unique Call. 

5.     Seals are known as the true seals, the earless seals or the crawling seals

6.     A male seal is called a bull, a female is called a cow, and a baby is called a pup

7.     A group of seals is called a colony on land, and a raft when in the water.

8.     The male Southern elephant seal can grow to the size of a small truck weighing over 7000 pounds

9.     Seals live mostly in very cold, often frozen environments, and their bodies are layered in blubber to protect them from the elements. 

Facts about Seal

  • carnivorous (meat-eating) 
  • diurnal (awake during the day)
  • aquatic (lives in and near water) 
  • pinniped(webbed digits)
  • phocid (true seal family) 
  • mammal (animal with mammary glands and hair follicles)

Scientific Classification

Class - Mammalia

Order - Carnivora

Genus - Phocidae

Species - phoca

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post